Announcement of SA Head Coach and Academy Coach

Dear SA Debating Community,

2013 has been one of the most successful years ever for the Academy and SA Debating teams.

Reflecting this it is the pleasure of the SASDB NEC to announce the reappointmentsof Luke Churchyard and Leanne Horwitz to the respective positions of SA Head and Academy Coach.

Luke and Leanne both enjoyed unprecedented success in their respective roles this year and we fully expect the continuity of their involvement to ensure that the structures they have implemented across the country become institutions of longevity and consistency.

We trust they will continue to serve all of us with pride.

SA Academy Team win Southern Africa Debate Time

The SASDB is so incredibly proud of the SA Academy Team! Bettina Buabeng Baidoo, Jordach Sheriden Govender and Nonhlanhla Masanabo have won the Southern Africa Debate Time competition in Zambia. They have done a fantastic job and continue to prove that South Africa can produce debaters of impeccable quality, passion and excellence! Well done to the speakers and their coach, Leanne Horwitz. We’re so excited to see what you do next.

Academy team representing SA at Southern Africa Debate Time

The Academy team (Bettina Buabeng Baidoo, Jordach Sheriden Govender and Nonhlanhla Masanabo) are leaving today for Zambia to represent SA at Zambia National Broadcasting Corporation’s Southern Africa Debate Time.

The topics they will debate are:

  1. Southern African governments are not doing enough to fight Cyber Crime.
  2. ICTs are influencing socio – economic development in Southern Africa.
  3. Technology is to blame for the moral decay in Southern Africa.


After premiering four years ago in Lusaka, Debate Time is a ZNBC television format that has provided a nationwide platform for inter-school debate competition meant to enhance research and public speaking skills in pupils. The program has had the participation of over 80 schools in Zambia and the participation of over 240 pupils from across the country per year. It has received an overwhelming response prompting schools from the Southern African region to request participation on the program.

The Grand Prize for Debate Time 2013 Southern Africa is US$5,000 and a Zambia Information Communication Technology Authority sponsored ICT Research Centre (computers).

The team will be accompanied by the Academy coach, Leanne Horwitz. We wish them all the best of luck for their adventure and are very proud of them!

Announcement: Academy Team 2013

This year has seen a number of highly talented; motivated and skilled group of debaters making the team selection a difficult; hotly contested and rigorous process. Nevertheless, the SA Academy Team for 2013 is:

Nonhlanhla Masanabo
Jordach Sheriden Govender
Bettina Buabeng-Baidoo
Delano Ramdas

Congratulations to all participants and to those that made the team.

Call for Academy selectors

Dear all,

The South African Schools Debating Board invites all suitable candidates to apply for a position on the panel of selectors and trainers that will select the South African Schools Academy Debating Team 2013.

SA Academy will be held in Johannesburg from 6 – 10 July 2013, with selectors arriving the afternoon of Saturday the 6th of July and departing midday of Wednesday the 10th of July. Selectors will be housed with Gauteng-based selectors/debating union members.

SA Academy selectors are unpaid and will be responsible for their own travel arrangements and travel costs.

Selectors will be responsible for the following:

  • Selecting the SA Academy Team to attend AWSDC 2013
  • Giving extensive constructive feedback to trialists after each debate
  • Engaging in active coaching sessions with trialists (this may include giving a workshop if requested to do so)

Your application should comprise the following:

  • Your name and contact details
  • A brief CV indicating your past involvement in debating
  • A brief written motivation

Please submit applications on or before Wednesday 19th of June 2013 to

The panel will be announced on 20th of June 2013. No late applications will be accepted.
The SASDB reserves the right to change any elements of this procedure should it see fit.

Kind regards,

Academy 2012

Academy was hosted in the Eastern Cape this week. Congratulations to Aria Ramothar, Bettina Baidoo, Noluthando Honono, Londiwe Mntambo and Ntokzo Hlongwane for being selected as the 2012 South African Academy Team.