Pretoria 2019


SANSDC 2019 was held on the beautiful Hatfield campus of the University of Pretoria.

We were all welcomed on the first day with an inspiring performance by UP’s Ovuwa Choir at the Opening Ceremony. Learners were also treated with a visit to Javett Art Centre.

The debaters were then engaged in eight vigorous preliminary rounds of debating. Our incredible Chief Adjudication Panel led by Christopher Hojem and Emma Buckland presented our debaters with thought-provoking motions. Our eventual senior champions hailed from the Western Cape and Junior winners from Kwa-Zulu Natal. SANSDC 2020 was in a class of its own.

The closing ceremony was hosted by a Miss SA Top 5 finalist and we listened to beautiful musical performances by Asanda and Zinhle.

We would like to thank our fabulous organising committee (Rimbilana Shingange, Bettina Buabeng-Baidoo, Bradley Wesi, Gregory O’Connor, Lebohang Sempe and Kagiso Segage) for organising a world-class tournament.



Junior and senior tab: