The National Academy Programme

At the 2011 National Schools Debating Championships, 12 of the most promising learners from ‘development’ (or poorly-resourced) schools were selected to take part in the 2012 Academy, an annual project of the SASDB that is designed to provide the best development speakers with the coaching they so seldom receive at their schools, and to narrow the gap between the best development speakers and the best speakers in the country. The Academy is a four-day training camp that will see these twelve learners exposed to some of the top coaching expertise in South Africa.

Speakers selected for the Academy


  1. Peaceful Gumede (Free State)
  2. Bettina Baidoo (Gauteng)
  3. KG Motsileng (Gauteng)
  4. Marshall Mtombeni (Gauteng)
  5. Leah Andrew (KZN)
  6. Londiwe Mntambo (KZN)
  7. Claudelle Pretorius (KZN)
  8. Aria Ramothar (KZN)
  9. Bongani Shabangu (Mpumalanga)
  10. Noluthando Honono (Western Cape)
  11. Ambesa Mlindi (Western Cape)
  12. Saloshnee Naidoo (Western Cape)