Announcement of South Africa A teams

Following the announcement of the national team (Josh Broomberg, Dan Peter, Rachel Grace Gardiner and Nicole Dunn) we would like to announce two additional South African A teams.

These teams are made up of the remaining eight trialists. These eight speakers were very competitive during the trails process and combine to form two teams of exceptional quality.These two teams will represent as South Africa “A” teams. The goal being to broaden the international exposure of the top level debaters in this country.

Congratulations to all the speakers! Trials was of an incredibly high quality this year and all debaters should be proud of what they have accomplished.

South Africa A1:

  • Bettina Buabeng-Baidoo
  • Saadiyah Mayet
  • Kate Dewey
  • Laurian Polkinghorne

South Africa A2:

  • Sam Musker
  • Ilan Malkin
  • Emma Buckland
  • Desmond Fairall

These two teams will attend the Asian World Schools Debating Championships in August.